The Secret Letter: Gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction

The Secret Letter: Gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction

Incredibly heart-wrenching… it’s just mind-blowing… I adored this book from start to finish… If I could give it 10 stars, I would!Confessions of a Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in…
London, 2018: When ninety-four-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany – and it sends shivers down her spine…
Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp – the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi’s power takes hold, Magda realizes she’s not like the other girls in her German village – she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.
But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda’s home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever…
Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, unputdownable and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.
Why readers are falling in love with The Secret Letter:
I was so gripped… a beautifully written story that captivated my mind and heart… A perfect historical fiction novel that fans of this genre are going to love.’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars
It actually blew my mind… I was turning pages like there was no tomorrow… I couldn’t read fast enough to find out what happened.’ Goodreads Reviewer
A beautiful, yet heart-wrenching tale… I was blown away by this book and I’m sure you will be too.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
‘This story was beautifully written and hooked me immediately… I was enthralled with the story all the way to the end and stayed up too late reading, but it was worth it!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
‘I was hooked from the first page. It was a true page-turner… the author hit a true home run with this one. It will tug at your heart and stay with you which is the mark of a great book. 5 stars – a 2019 must-read.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars
‘Well I read this in 24 hours, what better compliment can I give it!… The book was a page turner!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
‘Outstanding… such compelling stuff… a real page-turner of a book. The fact that it is inspired by real life events makes it even more poignant. Highly recommended.’ Sibzzreads, 5 stars‘5 stars for The Secret Letter! The writing is spectacular…There is romance, intrigue and a weaving of these two lives into one riveting ending.’ Netgalley reviewer, 5 stars‘This book deserves 20 stars! Based on many historical and personal family history, the story of two young girls, one British and one German from the start of WW2 to present day is one of the most well written stories I’ve ever read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

The Secret Letter: Gripping and heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction

List Price: $ 10.99

Price: $ 9.89

More Paperback Best Seller Books

Tags: , , ,